This Is How To Tell If Someone Has Blocked You On Facebook

Blocking people and being blocked is an inevitable part of life in the digital age. Usually, when we have decided that we’ve seen enough of an acquaintance from high school’s newborn baby or inspirational quotes about being brokenhearted accompanied by a picture of a Minion, we unfriend them.

But blocking is a more drastic action which is typically reserved for people who have really upset us on social media.

People are blocked for a variety of reasons. Either they’ve been annoying you with messages, or they have done something in “the real world” which has caused them to be permanently removed from your online world, and, sometimes, if they’re an ex or simply an unrequited love, they are blocked for the sake of your mental health.

But blocking isn’t always a permanent thing…

Occasionally, people need to take a break from each other, this is especially true after breakups, and blocking can be a good way to help them do it. Or, as is now the case, unfollowing them on Facebook so that your timeline isn’t littered with their updates or selfies with their new “bae”.

On the off chance that you’re relatively new to Facebook, or haven’t had the need to block anyone yet, this video explains how it’s done:

But how do you know if you have been blocked? Well, there are a few ways to find out…

The easiest way to discover if you’ve been blocked by someone is by searching for their name on Facebook. If the following message appears, then one of two things has happened: they have deactivated their account or blocked you…

You can tell if it’s the former by searching for them on your friends list. If they have deactivated their account, their profile will still be there.

 

While it’s not nice to discover that you’ve been blocked by someone, it’s important to respect and accept their decision to remove you from their online world.

The second way to discover if you’ve been blocked involves looking at your Facebook messages. If you try to contact someone and are unable to do so, or if you see that their name is black and in bold in your old messages, then I’m afraid you’ve been blocked.

However, it’s not just people on your friends list that can block you from Facebook.

Depending on what kind of content you post, or if you have any seriously malicious ‘friends’, it is possible to be blocked by Facebook itself. This can happen for a number of reasons, and one of them is when people you are friends with report the content you have posted for being inappropriate in some way.

While most of the time people are reported to Facebook for genuine reasons, sometimes innocent posts can lead to you being blocked. If this happens, you will receive the following message the next time you try to post an update on the social media website.

You can also unknowingly have your account registered as spam by posting photographs which are taken directly from Google, or by posting too many status updates within a short period of time.

Genuine reasons which can lead to people being blocked from Facebook include posting inappropriate content like nudity and hate speech.

What’s more is that if you’re repeatedly blocked from Facebook, even if it’s not for posting banned content, you are at risk of having your account permanently disabled. That’s why it’s important to make sure that you post original content and understand how the website works.

It’s also a good idea not to have people on your friends list who you might suspect are reporting you for no good reason!

However, if this does happen, you can contact Facebook to appeal the decision and, with any luck, an actual person will realize that you’ve been banned from the site unfairly.

So the next time you’re wondering if someone has blocked you on Facebook, you’ll know exactly what to do, and in the unlikely event that you find yourself post blocked and don’t know why, you’ll be able to work out some reasons which might have led to it.

You May Also Like

More Stories From Viral Thread